Wednesday, July 11, 2007

Update on my blues...



Thanks everyone for your suggestions and concern. I am planning on wearing more pants, though the funny thing about the skirt that I was wearing was that it was ankle length! As for the laws... what laws. Cambodia is a rather backwards 6thworld nation... yes i know there is no such thing as 6th world but it fits. There was a police officer watching as the boob grabbing happend, but they won't do anything. The way I look at it cops are just for show, and most of them are corrupted. If I were to get a weapon as some have suggested then I would be the one arrested... so I can get a bodyguard for about 40$ a mnth. Which I can easily afford. Even though i am making only 800$/US a mnth. I am making 650-600$ more then any well payed Khmer. It is just a difficult adjustment that is all, and in time I will get used to it. I talked/cried on Leslie's (my boss, and quickly becoming a very good friend) shoulder. It took her about 3 mnths before she stopped crying almost everyday and wanting to go home as well. So my new plan is to get my bodyguard for a few months until I am more comfortable with Phnom Pehn as for the other things that make life there difficult... well I'm getting a moto helmet, I pray alot now to Buddha, I signed up for the gym and will be taking Kickboxing, and I have found a new relaxing thing... Manicures and Pedicures. I know I don't want to come home with out trying because then I will doubt myself for the rest of my life, and I also don't like the fail. So I will take each day and trial as it comes to me. it helps to be able to talk to you all this way and still get your support... It helps to make me feel some what still at home. Today I am feeling better, and for my and Leslies last night here in Bangkok we are going out and shakin' our booties and gettin' liquored. I like that plan! But first as Leslie is napping (she is not feeling well today)I am going to go down the street and have my very first Thai massage... Oh i can feel the stress melting away as I type and dream about it. Oh! Funny story... As Leslie and I were eating dinner last night we met a young gentleman named Steve he like Leslie is from Seattle. But as soon as he found out I was Canadian he had a few stories to relate about his Canadian adventures. The first being that as a teenager he a bunch of his friends used to pile in the car to drive 2 hours across the border just to go to TIM HORTONS! For coffee and doughnuts. One time as they were returning to the States the guard stopped them and asked them how long they had been gone. After responding that they had only been gone for 45minutes, the guard then asked why. Well after explaining that they had just gone to Timmy's, and offered the guard a doughnut. The guard thought they were nuts, and more so after he got them to pop their trunk and he found 10 boxes of doughnuts all neatly lined up in their trunk. So it just goes to show timmy's is addictive. The second story of Steve's that was funny was about his friend... They had gone to watch the Canucks play the Sens in Vancouver. His friend being a Leafs fan (not the good type like Keith, but the annoying type!) tried to start up a Sens Suck, Leafs Rule chant. Not only was his friend BOOOOOOO'd, but he had people throwing popcorn at him, dumping their beers on him and all the like. So not quite yet disheartend he went back to his seat and tried again. So the little granny behind him dumped her popcorn on his head and told him to shush! Then the group around him started chanting Go Sens, Go Canucks, Leafs Sucks! I had to laugh when I heard that one. Anyways love you all... I have a massage calling me. Miss you and see you in 2005

No comments: