Monday, July 2, 2007
HEY ALL!!!
Well it has taken me almost a week to update my LJ, but here it goes. The flight here was... okay I guess. We didn't crash if that makes it any better. No the trip from Ottawa to Toronto was alright although there was 3 newborns on the flight... OyVey! Then came my melting point at the Toronto airport when I went to check in for my flight to Hong Kong they were rude and bitchy! Plus I ended up having to pay an extra $185 for my carry on luggage (Which in the end I had to checkin) *sigh* Needless to say I was in tears by the time I got onto my flight. The flight was nice though, I had my own TV and could choose what I wanted to watch (movie or TV), or play as there were games as well. We only hit turbulance over Japan as a Typhoon was hitting Okinawa. Then came HELL the flight to Cambodia with a bunch of Khmer. No offence to any of them but ARRRRRGGHHH!!!! Lets just leave it at that because as the old saying goes if you have nothing nice to say don't say anything at all. I didn't have many problems getting my VISA or any of the other million and a half forms (that all seemed the same to me) filled. Once I was out it was nice I was met by the Dean of the english department Leslie Napora and one of the schools directors whose name I can only say not spell. They took me to my guest house, and then Leslie and I went to the FCC for tapas and drinks. My guest house is one of the nicer ones (HAHAHAHAHA) although it is a hole! I am now in the process of looking for an apartment to get out of there as quickly as possible. I keep finding more and more problems with it each day. So on Friday, Leslie took me around PP and got me aquainted with some of the more interesting things. We went to Java cafe, which is one of three places you can get a decent cup of coffee. She took me to the central market, many pretty sparklies there. Oh hell she took me all over and although it smells horrid here and it's ickie I like it. Leslie and I have become very fast friends this was helped as I went on a trip with the school admin. team to Sihanoukville for the weekend. Originally we were to leave Sat. morning and come back Sun. but after some poo that happend Leslie and I decided that we would find our own place to stay. (* The poo by the way was a family disagreement, and nothing to do with us) Which we did rather sucessfully, we also decided we would stay Sun. and come back Mon. the last decision was because we did not enjoy our time at the Occhoteal Beach, as it is a Khmer beach and we were hassled none stop. So we went the next day to Victory beach which is a tourists beach so no hassles (ahhhhh...) At our guest house we met a very nice lady from Sweden named Ingela. So we all trouped to the beach together, swam, sun bathed and I had to have a HAPPY Bannana Milkshake. From there we went back to the guest house, had dinner, then we went and got massages and the rest of the night was spent having Margaitas at the GH's bar. Well when Leslie and I got back from Sihanoukville we went to FCC for lunch, and then went to senses and got $2 manicures/pedicures. (Gods I have such a hard life) we bummed around for the rest of the day and then said our goodbyes for the night. Tuesday we met for lunch, and then I went to the school with her and helped edit a few thing. After work we went to the Russian market. ( There are two major markets here Central and Russian. Then there is one or two malls the mall I know is Sorya) There I bought a few Khmer silk pillow cases for my mom, see I have also bought her the watch she always wanted. So I wanted something to wrap it in when I sent it.. so for 5$ I wasn't going to complain. Then we went to Chit Chat Bubble tea for dinner, nice place. Then I went to see Gloria, my doctor here as well... I'm rather ill. NOBODY WORRY! It looks like I will have to invest in a Nebulizer (a mister for asthmatics) as well I am on antibiotics for a bit. it is completely normal for people to get sick in their first little while here as there is alot of garbage and pollution so no one (mom) worry I am okay and have a wonderful doctor. I have to go and see her tonight again just to make sure the medications are working, and drop off all of my medication to her as she is willing to store it for me in a safe location. Today I am at the school again doing some editting work to help out Leslie, then I am not sure where we are going for dinner. But tommorow we are going all expensise payed for by the school to Bangkok to pick up the new textbooks for the school. We will be there from tommorow (Thurs.) and come back on Sat. It's funny though I have found my weakness here DVD's. At $3 a piece I now own, Brother Bear, I Robot, Whale Rider, Kiki's Delivery Service, The newest Pokemon (not even out in N.A.), Freida, Two Brothers. There are so many more that I want to get as well. Although i also need to go out and buy a Motorcycle helmet, I like my head intact! And as the only mode of transport around here is moto... you get the picture. I'm like and old pro now on the moto's I can even ride side saddle. If any one wants to know about my first experience on a moto just ask Kim. She'll tell you and you can feel free to laugh. As for Phone calls, I can call people rather cheaply from Internet phone, there is a lag in talking but it is cheap for me to do. If you wanted to talk to me though, I suggest going to the Bravo (Bank&Metcalfe) and picking up a phone card. They have one's specific to Asia there. You'll need to look up the country code for Cambodia but my number is 011240511 and I now know it costs me nothing to talk if you call me (sorry mom I didn't know). As for snail mail... I am still working on that so no one write me yet, as it will cost me money to pick it up from the post office, they don't deliver it, and any one has access to pick it up. It may be better that once a month if people want to send me something you all work something out to courier it to me at the school. I'm not sure yet and I will look into it.Anyways I love and miss you all... I'll write more soon. Now that I know where the teachers lab is at the school. Oh one last thing and you can all laugh... I am sooooo craving a Poutine!!!!!! So someone have one for me please and send me happy yummy thoughs. Alrighty HUGS and KISSES to all.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
9 comments:
Jaxi, are there honestly STILL Khmer Rouge in Cambodia? Are they everywhere? That is amazing. Is Pol Pot still alive? Why do they hassle tourists? Do they still openly carry rifles? Jeezus girl be careful okay?
Keep the updates coming....and I want silly stories too :PNice to hear from ya
Hey, sounds ... exciting... but I'm glad to hear things are working out. Get well soon and I hope the mister works for ya. It's nice to hear that you're settling in so well. Best of luck on finding a good Apt. What's the food like? What's Khmer? (sorry i'm ignant)I'll make sure a group of us go out and have Poutine for you.Stay safe on those evil motos! ;)
Hey, sounds ... exciting... but I'm glad to hear things are working out. Get well soon and I hope the mister works for ya. It's nice to hear that you're settling in so well. Best of luck on finding a good Apt. What's the food like? What's Khmer? (sorry i'm ignant)I'll make sure a group of us go out and have Poutine for you.Stay safe on those evil motos! ;)
I KNOW I posted to this... your LJ doesn't like me.Glad to see things are off to a roaring start :)What do I need to send you for you to buy me some silk? (Or is Cambodia a bad place to buy silk?)
Cambodian Silk is beautiful! But which kind do you want? There are 2.. There is also Thai Silk. Plus to answer your question... all you need to do is ask. Then I will FedEx it to you.
Khmer is the Cambodian peoples sweetie, not many people know that so don't say your ignant (teehee)
Yup, but they are not the nasty ones like before. Now they are a democratic party in Cambodia. As to Pol Pot still being alive??? Apparently he is dead, but he could be in North Korea with The King of Cambodia. Rifles are common in the banks, but they are mostly automatic machineguns. And they hassle tourists because they are desperatly poor here... you have poor and then rich nothing in between. If your a whitey then obviously your rich! HAHAHAHAHA! Rich my ass...
I will. I have a not so funny story... I'm looking for a bodyguard. men have decided that it is their right to grab at my brests, so instead of me breaking their fingers and going to jail... I can get a bodyguard to fend them off.
Post a Comment